Smell of Popcorn

film reviews & musings by Max Lalanne

The 10 Best Animated Films Ever

Posted by Max Lalanne on May 15, 2012

Pixar will be releasing their latest, Brave, on June 22nd, and in my mind that’s reason enough to present to you the 10 Best Animated Films Ever, a not-so-massive compilation that’s exactly how it sounds and is exactly how it sounds too. But first, let me blabber on a little.

I’ve always been a gigantic fan of animated movies, especially those from Disney-Pixar – a lot of them make up the majority on this list, but that’s because they’re all so good. Nontheless, there are unexpected surprises on my list, still, seeing as much-lauded work that I didn’t love obviously don’t have a ranked spot. You might miss a certain little robot from post-apocalyptic Earth, or a certain big green ogre, or a certain bunch of talking cars. Ah well.

I should mention that there are still many I have not seen yet. Despite growing up with films like The Aristocats, The Lion King, The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, The Jungle Book – some of which who will undoubtedly use some nostalgia factor to sneak in and get a spot – I haven’t seen many classics like Beauty and the Beast, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Cinderella and so forth. Also some oddities like Akira and  The Iron Giant. All in all, though, I had to choose from over forty very different animated films. Not so shabby.

But enough with the pleasantries, let’s get down to the 10 Best Animated Films right away. Presented without much commentary, but with what I  consider the best quotes of dialogue from these movies, because who doesn’t like a good quote? Here we go!

10. The Little Mermaid (1989), Disney
Alan Menkel’s beautiful melodies like “Part of Your World” helped this one. A lot.

But if I become human, I’ll never be with my father or sisters again.”  – Ariel
That’s right. But  – you’ll have your man. Life’s full of tough choices, innit?” – Ursula

9. Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011), Dreamworks
Slapstick humor, amazing action sequences, and surprisingly delicate heart. Surpasses the first.

How did you find peace? I took away your parents, everything. I scarred you for life!” – Lord Shen
See that’s the thing, Shen, scars heal.” – Po
“…No they don’t. Wounds heal.” – Lord Shen

8. Toy Story 3  (2010), Disney-Pixar
Terrific end to a terrific trilogy. A wonderful movie that hits home on all levels.

She’s a Barbie doll, Ken. There’s a hundred million just like her!” – Lotso
Not to me there aren’t.” – Ken

7. Monsters Inc. (2001), Disney-Pixar
One of the most refreshingly original movies to come out ever, animated or not. Hilarious characters.

I’m telling you Big Daddy, you’re going to see this face on TV more often.” – Mike
Yeah, like on ‘Monstropolis’ Most Wanted?””  – Sully

6. Rango (2011), Paramount
I love Westerns. And this witty, satirical homage is brilliant any way you look at it.

Is this Heaven?” – Rango
If it were, we’d be eating Pop Tarts with Kim Novak right now.” – The Man With No Name

5. How to Train Your Dragon (2010), Dreamworks
Deftly combines fantasy elements and still makes it relatable and touching. Very funny.

If you even want to get out there to fight dragons, you need to stop being all…this.” – Gobber
You just pointed to all of me!.” – Hiccup
Yes! That’s right. Stop being all of you.” – Gobber

4. The Incredibles  (2004), Disney-Pixar
An incredibly smart and genius spoof on superheroes. Yes, yes, I said incredible.

Mr. Sansweet didn’t ask to be saved. Mr. Sansweet didn’t want to be saved. And the injuries received from Mr. Incredible’s “actions,” so-called, causes him daily pain!” – Mr. Sansweet’s lawyer
Hey, I saved your life!” – Mr. Incredible
You didn’t save my life, you ruined my death! That’s what you did!” – Mr. Sansweet

3. The Lion King (1994), Disney
Grew up with this stirring, epic film. Covers the whole spectrum of emotions.

Boy, he looks blue.” – Timon
I’d say brownish-gold.” – Pumbaa
No, no, no. I meant, he’s depressed!” – Timon

2. Toy Story (1995), Disney-Pixar
The original that started it all, and still the best. The voice work of Tom Hanks and Tim Allen are terrific.

You are a toy! You’re not the real Buzz Lightyear! You’re an action figure! You’re a child’s plaything!” – Woody
You’re a strange, sad little man, and you have my pity.” – Buzz Lightyear

1. Finding Nemo (2003), Disney-Pixar
Gorgeous animation, gorgeous story. There’s nothing wrong with this film, and that’s why it’s #1 on my list.

Are…are you my conscience?” – Dory
Yeah…yeah…yeah…yeah I’m your conscience. We haven’t spoken in a while. How are you?” – Marlin
Hmm…can’t complain.” – Dory

And that’s that. I’m sure you got a lot of opinions, so I want to hear them! Leave a comment below and let’s argue animated films.

 

Join the conversation

