Smell of Popcorn

film reviews & musings by Max Lalanne

My top ten favorite animated films

Posted by Max Lalanne on June 18, 2012

20120617-222258.jpg

In honor of Toy Story 3 having been released on this day back in 2010, and Pixar’s latest Brave being released this Friday here in the States, it seems like the perfect time to release my list of my top ten favorite animated movies. Because you haven’t seen enough of the exact same thing, right?

10. The Little Mermaid (1989), Disney
Alan Menkel’s beautiful and ridiculously catchy melodies helped this one. A lot.
9. Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011), Dreamworks
Slapstick humor, amazing action sequences, plus surprisingly delicate heart. Surpasses the first.
8. Toy Story 3 (2010), Disney-Pixar
Terrific end to a terrific trilogy. A wonderful movie that hits home on all levels.
7. Monsters Inc. (2001), Disney-Pixar
One of the most refreshingly original movies to come out ever, animated or not. Hilarious characters and dialogue.
6. Rango (2011), Paramount
I love Westerns. And this witty, sharp satire/homage/spoof is brilliant any way you look at it.
5. How to Train Your Dragon (2010), Dreamworks
Deftly combines fantasy elements and still makes it relatable and touching. Very funny.
4. The Incredibles (2004), Disney-Pixar
An incredibly smart and genius spoof – and you know, I love animated spoofs! Yeah, I said incredible.
3. The Lion King (1994), Disney
Grew up with this stirring, epic film. Covers the whole spectrum of emotions.
2. Toy Story (1995), Disney-Pixar
The original that started it all, and still the best. The voice work of Tom Hanks and Tim Allen are terrific.
1. Finding Nemo (2003), Disney-Pixar
Gorgeous animation, gorgeous story. There’s nothing wrong with this film, and that’s why it’s No. 1 on my list.

So, what are your favorite animated movies? I know some popular favorites – like WALL-E, for instance – didn’t make my cut, plus I’d like to say right now that I haven’t seen The Iron Giant and therefore cannot include it onto my list. Definitely something I want to watch, though.

One Response to “My top ten favorite animated films”

  1. Have you seen Brave Little Toaster? Man, that’s a tear-jerker

Join the conversation

